It Sure Was The Scorcher Today

thermometer-580x386

Dear Diary,

I was covered in sweat from head to toe when I woke up. I could feel sweat drops slipping down my body. It was the time of noon, when the sun was at it’s peak. The temperature was 48 degree centigrade today, here in my city. There was no electricity and I could see the jammed fan staring at me furiously. I stood up, washed my face and sprayed some rose water over it to get a cooling effect. I could feel everything failing, along with my hopes.

I walked outside the room, into the porch. Hot heatwaves welcomed me and I felt like I have stepped into a burning furnace. I could never understand why the sun becomes so furious for us. Every year we hear that increasing hot temperature has broke all the previous records. Every year people die of this hot weather.

I have often came across articles on word press, where people of different countries complaint of the ‘bad weather’, and by bad weather they mean heavy rainfall or snowfall. Last night I was talking to my husband on phone, he lives in UK, and he told me that the weather is pleasant today. The first thing that came into my mind was that it’d be raining in fine drops and sky would be covered with blue clouds. I was wrong, by pleasant he meant sunlight and a slight warm temperature. I could never imagine how sunshine and hotness can be pleasant for anyone.

My skin was burning, my head felt like a boiling hot ball of fire. Why this rage, why this fury for us ? This scorching heat along with the dead silence has the power to kill.

I stare at the dark delicious chocolate melting down on my fingers, dripping on the palm of my hand and I kept staring. I see colorful Β ice-cream transferring back to the viscous mixture of milk and sugar. I can’t eat anything, food makes me feel dizzy in summers.

Right now, when I write my diary, it’s pages are damp with my sweat and my head has started spinning along with the spinning fan. Sometimes we have no choice but to live with the pains that bother us, in the hope of better days, I guess.

Later, Diary… Let me breathe in fresh air or I’ll die.

11 thoughts on “It Sure Was The Scorcher Today

  1. Exactlyy!!!
    How can people complain about rainfall or snowfall. And yeah how is sunny weathee pleasant? -_-
    Sun’s ruling here as well.
    I wish to live somewhere, where summer doesnt stay longer than two months. 😦

      • Haha cute it seems πŸ˜› I know, I know. I have experienced 50 degrees k upar wala bhi summer -_-
        Summer fruits make it bearable especially mangoes ❀
        I will happily bear the heat for mangoes n melons and all other desi summer delicacies. Alhamdulilah for them ^_^

  2. How does one love sunshine and warm weather? In a country where ‘warm’ weather means 25 degrees Celsius, one is sure to enjoy it. Ask them in the winters and they would complain of no sunshine with temperatures well below the freezing point… You still want to be there? πŸ˜›

    And… well… I escaped the heat πŸ™‚ πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ I am sitting in Germany πŸ™‚

    But I still envy you… You get to eat mangoes and it has been years since I tasted one 😦

    And BTW… The monsoons are going to be weak this year… So… Happy Summers πŸ™‚ πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • Lol no I don’t want to be there. I love my country, and I guess I have every right to complain about the things I don’t like in it πŸ˜›
      You are so mean πŸ˜› You are sitting in Germany and wishing us Happy summers ? Not fair 😦 How is the weather there ?
      Happy Summers to you as well, I wish you come back to your country very soon πŸ˜›

      • The weather is good… Last night it rained… so its a bit cold… (17-20 degrees)

        Ya… I would come back… but in mid July… So you see… it would be monsoons πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› Main bach gayaa πŸ™‚

  3. it’s tough to get through any extreme temperatures without electricity. makes one think how did people survive before modern technologies.

I Would Love To Hear Your Golden Thoughts

